Hans Maria Wingler with Walter Gropius, 1961, Darmstadt (6.4.1961), on the occasion of the opening of Bauhaus-Archiv / (c) VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Hans Maria Wingler with Walter Gropius, 1961, Darmstadt (6.4.1961), on the occasion of the opening of Bauhaus-Archiv

Hans Maria Wingler with Walter Gropius, 1961, Darmstadt (6.4.1961), on the occasion of the opening of Bauhaus-Archiv (c) VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Walter Gropius, Alex Cvijanovic und Hans Bandel, Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin (1976-79), topping out ceremony 10 June 1977

history

Following the closure of the Bauhaus in 1933, its material heritage was scattered all over the world. In 1960, the German art historian Hans Maria Wingler therefore founded the Bauhaus-Archiv with the aim of building up a collection on the subject of the Bauhaus, with the support of Walter Gropius and other former Bauhaus members. The name ‘Bauhaus-Archiv’ also represented the institution’s programme – since establishing a museum, in the sense of preserving something that was closed and complete, was not initially the goal. Instead, the collection was intended to act as a reservoir of ideas for something that would exercise a continuing influence.

In 1961, the Bauhaus-Archiv received its first domicile in the Ernst Ludwig Building on Mathildenhöhe in Darmstadt. Even at that time, the institution organized a large number of exhibitions with accompanying catalogues. In 1968, it made a decisive contribution to the ’50 Years of the Bauhaus’ exhibition, which was widely noted internationally. The collection had in the meantime expanded so much that planning was started for a separate museum building. Bauhaus founder Walter Gropius provided the designs for the building. However, it was not Darmstadt, but rather the state of Berlin that ultimately proved willing to host the institution and provide a suitable site and financial resources.

In Berlin, the Bauhaus-Archiv initially had its premises in Charlottenburger Schlossstrasse, starting in 1971. In 1976, the foundation stone was laid for its own museum building. Numerous former Bauhaus members from all over the world took part in the ceremony, and the building opened in 1979. The Bauhaus-Archiv – now renamed as Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung – now had much better facilities for its exhibitions and work. In addition to a permanent exhibition, it presented comprehensive special exhibitions on major artists – such as Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Johannes Itten, George Muche and Herbert Bayer – and on the architects Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Hannes Meyer, and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, who taught at the Bauhaus. Specific areas of work at the Bauhaus – such as ceramics, metalworking, photography and advertising – could now be studied and presented in greater detail.

The Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin is now an internationally recognized museum. Its reputation has been achieved not only through numerous guest exhibitions but also those held under its own roof. In addition to historical topics associated with the Bauhaus, the Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung is also increasingly turning its attention to current issues in contemporary architecture and design.

Walter Gropius, Alex Cvijanovic und Hans Bandel, Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin (1976-79), Rohbau am Tag des Richtfests, 10. Juni 1977

Geschichte

Nach der Schließung des Bauhauses im Jahr 1933 hatte sich dessen materielles Erbe in alle Welt verstreut. So gründete der deutsche Kunsthistoriker Hans Maria Wingler 1960 das Bauhaus-Archiv mit dem Ziel, eine Sammlung zum Thema Bauhaus aufzubauen. Unterstützt wurde er von Walter Gropius und anderen ehemaligen Bauhaus-Angehörigen. Der Name „Bauhaus-Archiv“ war Programm, denn eine Musealisierung, verstanden als Aufbewahrung von etwas Abgeschlossenem, war zunächst nicht das Ziel. Vielmehr sollte die Sammlung als Ideenreservoir für etwas Fortwirkendes dienen.

1961 erhielt das Bauhaus-Archiv im Ernst-Ludwig-Haus auf der Darmstädter Mathildenhöhe sein erstes Domizil. Das Haus veranstaltete schon damals zahlreiche, von Katalogen begleitete Ausstellungen. Im Jahr 1968 trug es maßgeblich zur international stark beachteten Ausstellung 50 Jahre Bauhaus bei. Die Sammlung war inzwischen so stark angewachsen, dass man ein eigenes Museumsgebäude plante. Der Bauhaus-Gründer Walter Gropius lieferte die Entwürfe dafür. Doch nicht Darmstadt, sondern das Land Berlin fand sich schließlich bereit, die Institution zu übernehmen und ein passendes Grundstück sowie finanzielle Mittel zur Verfügung zu stellen.

In Berlin bezog das Bauhaus-Archiv zunächst 1971 in der Charlottenburger Schlossstraße sein Quartier. 1976 wurde der Grundstein für das eigene Museumsgebäude gelegt. Zahlreiche ehemalige Bauhaus-Angehörige aus aller Welt nahmen an diesem Festakt teil. 1979 erfolgte der Einzug. Das Bauhaus-Archiv, nun umbenannt in Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung, hatte von da an deutlich bessere Ausstellungs- und Wirkungsmöglichkeiten. Neben einer ständigen Ausstellung präsentierte es umfassende Sonderausstellungen zu bedeutenden Künstlern – wie Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Johannes Itten, Georg Muche oder Herbert Bayer – und zu den Architekten Walter Gropius, Marcel Breuer, Hannes Meyer, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, die am Bauhaus unterrichteten. Auch spezifische Bauhaus-Werkbereiche – wie Keramik, Metall, Fotografie oder Reklame – wurden nun eingehender erforscht und vorgestellt.

Inzwischen gehört das Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung zu den international beachteten Museen. Dazu trugen nicht nur zahlreiche Gastausstellungen bei, sondern insbesondere auch jene, die das Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin unter seinem Dach zeigte. Neben den historischen Themen aus dem Umkreis des Bauhauses widmet sich das Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin zunehmend auch aktuellen Fragestellungen zur zeitgenössischen Architektur und zum Design.