Where to begin?

In preparation for the future education programme at the Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung, we have been methodically reviewing our collection since 2018 with a focus on Bauhaus exercises and class assignments. We began with the preliminary course, which all Bauhaus students were required to complete, and which served as the basis for their future training, as well as courses in architecture. “Design a cube-shaped house”, “Start class with a handstand” and “Live in an experimental house for a summer” were the names of several historic exercises from the collection.

For our project Where to begin?, we are collecting contemporary exercises, introductory warm-ups for one’s first encounter with art, architecture and design. We are interested in what exercises from long ago are still being used today, and where. Which assignments resemble the historic Bauhaus exercises? What themes, methods and approaches are new, and which ones are timeless?

Where do you begin? What is your introductory exercise? What initial task would you assign workshop participants, pupils and students? How do you guide them through it? What is the scope? What material do you provide? What questions do you ask?
Or: What design exercise from your own studies/professional training is still relevant for students today?

Send us your initial exercise in one sentence!
Project manager: Friederike Holländer, Education, f.hollaender[a]bauhaus.de.

All submitted proposals will be transcribed onto giant Post-It notes by the illustrator Doro Petersen and displayed at the temporary bauhaus-archiv from 21 August to 30 October 2021 as part of the exhibition Learning Bauhaus.

All contributors will be mentioned by name. Please tell us the place (where you taught or completed the exercise) and date (when you taught/completed the exercise for the first time).

We look forward to receiving your submission!

Learning Bauhaus

Learning Bauhaus

Learning Bauhaus

Practice, Research and Experimentation at the future Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung

21.08.-30.10.2021

Wie anfangen?

Für das zukünftige Bildungs- und Vermittlungsprogramm am Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung erforschen wir seit 2018 unsere Sammlung mit dem Fokus auf den Unterricht am Bauhaus. Angefangen haben wir mit dem Vorkurs, den alle Studierenden am Bauhaus durchliefen und der die Grundlage für ihre weitere Ausbildung war, und dem Architekturunterricht. „Entwirf ein würfelförmiges Haus“; „Mache zu Unterrichtsbeginn einen Handstand“ oder „Bewohne einen Sommer lang ein Versuchshaus“, lauten historische Übungen aus der Sammlung.

In unserem Projekt "Wie anfangen?" sammeln wir Aufgabenstellungen von heute, Einstiegsübungen für erste Berührungen mit Kunst, Architektur und Design. Uns interessiert, welche Übungen von damals heute noch verwendet werden und wo. Welche Aufgabenstellungen von heute haben Ähnlichkeiten mit historischen, welche Themen, Methoden, Herangehensweisen sind neu und welche zeitlos?

Wie fangen Sie an? Was ist Ihre Einstiegsübung? Welche erste Aufgabe geben Sie WorkshopteilnehmerInnen, SchülerInnen, Studierenden? Wie leiten Sie an? Welchen Rahmen setzen Sie? Welches Material stellen Sie zur Verfügung? Welche Frage stellen Sie?
Oder: Welche gestalterische Übung aus Ihrem eigenen Studium/Ihrer Ausbildung ist für sie heute noch relevant?

Schicken Sie uns Ihre Anfangsübung in einem Satz!
An: Friederike Holländer, Bildung und Vermittlung, f.hollaender[a]bauhaus.de.

Alle eingegangenen Beiträge werden von der Illustratorin Doro Petersen handschriftlich auf Riesen-Klebezettel übertragen und im temporary bauhaus-archiv im Rahmen der Ausstellung Learning Bauhaus vom 21.8.-30.10.2021 gezeigt.

Die Autor*innen werden namentlich genannt. Nennen Sie uns gern Ort (wo haben Sie die Übung unterrichtet oder gemacht) und Datum (wann haben Sie die Übung erstmals unterrichtet oder gemacht).

Wir freuen uns über Ihren Beitrag!

Learning Bauhaus

Learning Bauhaus

Learning Bauhaus

Üben, Forschen, Experimentieren im zukünftigen Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung

21.08.-30.10.2021