STUDIO BAUHAUS, VIENNA – Friedl Dicker and Franz Singer

24 November 2022 to 26 March 2023 at the Vienna museum MUSA

Cupboards that conceal stackable armchairs, pedestals that become beds, strictly geometric forms and bold colors: the joint studio of Friedl Dicker (1898-1944) and Franz Singer (1896-1954) stood for these kinds of surprising and innovative designs in interwar Vienna. Grounded in the principles of economy of space and diversity of use, the two Bauhaus students developed a distinctive style of furnishing that occupied a special place in Vienna’s residential culture.

Although Singer and Dicker received numerous commissions in the 1920s and early 1930s, their work is almost entirely lost. During the Nazi era, their clients, most of whom were Jewish, were persecuted. The studio’s furnishings were largely destroyed, only a few pieces, brought with them by exiles, survived. Singer himself moved to London in 1934; Dicker was murdered at Auschwitz in 1944. For decades, the work of the two designers fell into oblivion. Since the 1980s, it has been gradually rediscovered.

Based on new research, the exhibition presents the studio’s most important work from the Bauhaus until emigration. Impressive depictions of interiors (axonometric drawing), photographs, models, and furniture pieces add important perspectives to our understanding of Viennese Modernism: from the Montessori kindergarten in the Goethehof to the luxurious Auersperg-Hériot guest house, from the innovative tubular steel chair to the Phantasus construction kit, a replica of which allows visitors to playfully learn about Dicker and Singer's design principles in the exhibition.

The exhibition is accompanied by a comprehensive, richly illustrated publication with essays by renowned experts as well as the first annotated catalogue raisonné of the Dicker-Singer studio (Müry Salzmann-Verlag).

Curatorial Team: Katharina Hövelmann, Andreas Nierhaus, Georg Schrom

A cooperation with the Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin, with the Wien Museum, Vienna.

Exhibition website of the Wien Museum MUSA.

Wien Museum MUSA
Felderstraße 6–8
1010 Wien

ATELIER BAUHAUS, WIEN – Friedl Dicker und Franz Singer

24. November 2022 bis 26. März 2023 im Wien Museum MUSA

Schränke, in denen sich stapelbare Sessel verbergen, Podeste, aus denen Betten werden, streng geometrische Formen und kräftige Farben: für überraschende und innovative Entwürfe wie diese stand im Wien der Zwischenkriegszeit die Ateliergemeinschaft von Friedl Dicker (1898-1944) und Franz Singer (1896-1954). Unter den Grundsätzen von Raumökonomie und Nutzungsvielfalt entwickelten die beiden Bauhaus-Schüler einen unverwechselbaren Einrichtungsstil, der in der Wiener Wohnkultur eine Sonderstellung einnahm.

Obwohl Singer und Dicker in den 1920er- und frühen 1930er-Jahren zahlreiche Aufträge erhielten, ist ihr Werk fast zur Gänze verloren: Während der NS-Zeit wurden die mehrheitlich jüdischen Auftraggeber:innen verfolgt, einigen gelang die Flucht. Die vom Atelier gestalteten Wohnungseinrichtungen wurden zerstört, mitunter aber auch in die Emigration mitgenommen. Franz Singer war bereits 1934 nach London übersiedelt, Friedl Dicker wurde in Auschwitz ermordet. Das Schaffen der beiden Designer geriet in Vergessenheit und wird erst seit den 1980er-Jahren wiederentdeckt.

Auf der Basis aktueller Forschungen präsentiert die Ausstellung die wichtigsten Arbeiten des Ateliers zwischen Bauhaus und Emigration. Eindrucksvolle farbige Raumdarstellungen (Axonometrien), Fotografien, Modelle und Möbel erweitern das Bild der Wiener Moderne um neue, faszinierende Facetten: vom Montessori-Kindergarten im Goethehof bis zum luxuriösen Gästehaus Auersperg-Hériot, vom innovativen Stahlrohrsessel bis zum Phantasus-Baukasten, dessen Nachbau es den Besucher*innen erlaubt, sich die Gestaltungsgrundsätze von Dicker und Singer in der Ausstellung spielerisch anzueignen.

Kuratorisches Team: Katharina Hövelmann, Andreas Nierhaus, Georg Schrom

Eine Kooperation des Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung mit dem Wien Museum.

Zur Ausstellungswebsite des Wien Museum MUSA.

Weitere Informationen zur Erschließung der Nachlässe von Franz Singer und Friedl Dicker am Bauhaus-Archiv finden Sie hier.