Walter Gropius, „Yellow, Red, Blue", c. 1919


When the Bauhaus-Archiv was founded in 1960, its central purpose was defined as ‘collecting … all documents relating to the activities and cultural ideas of the Bauhaus’. The core of the Document Collection consists of some of the posthumous papers of Bauhaus founder Walter Gropius, who like many other Bauhaus members donated his private archive to the Bauhaus-Archiv.

In addition, the collection also includes documents from other individuals and colleges associated with the ideas and history of the Bauhaus. All of the Bauhaus’s publications and a collection of company publications and sales catalogues from various areas of industrial design, mainly from the 1920s and 1930s, are also in the collection.

In view of current developments in relation to coronavirus, the temporary bauhaus-archiv is closed until further notice.

For suggestions on how to discover the Bauhaus from home, click here.