Bauhaus Campus Berlin

For one year Tinyhouse University will be curating as many as 20 projects on educational and architectural culture.

How do we design neighbourhoods in a growing city and in a society that is a destination for immigration? How do we want to live, work, learn and teach today in order to master the great challenges of the future? The Bauhaus Campus Berlin is seeking new paths in educational and architectural culture in the form of an artistic experiment. Berlin’s Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung is allowing its initiators to do so by letting them to use parts of the museum grounds from 10 March 2017 to 9 March 2018.

By the spring of 2018 as many as 20 different Tiny Houses will be created in the garden of the Bauhaus-Archiv. These mobile wooden houses on wheels seek answers for the demands of current and future forms of living and working. According to Dr Annemarie Jaeggi, Director of the Bauhaus‐Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung: “We were excited about Van Bo Le-Mentzel’s idea from the very beginning. On the Bauhaus Campus an international community of creatives will spend a year studying, building and researching new and fairer forms of coexistence. This experiment coincides with the historical Bauhaus as an educational institution where the social questions of housing were already being reconsidered 100 years ago.“

The Bauhaus Campus will be launched with the “100 euro flat” – Germany’s smallest flat and simultaneously a part of the housing policy initiative Co-Being House, which deals with planning an inner-city multifamily residence where flexible walls make it possible to expand or shrink the flats according to their users’ situation in life.

The intended audiences of the Bauhaus Campus are visitors to the Bauhaus-Archiv, families from the surrounding neighbourhood and innovators committed to a new form of education and building. Anyone interested in “sitting in” on our studies is cordially invited to open meetings on the Bauhaus Campus (Speakout Monday), the monthly Tiny Bauhaus Salons and many other events. The Bauhaus-Archiv and active participants in the Bauhaus Campus are jointly planning an extensive special programme for the Long Night of Museums on 26 August 2017. For more details, go to: www.bauhauscampus.berlin.

The organiser of the Bauhaus Campus is the Tinyhouse University (TinyU), a Berlin collective consisting of designers, educational activists and refugees. Founded in 2015 by Van Bo Le-Mentzel, TinyU pursues its goal of exploring socially conscious neighbourliness in a creative manner.

In the coming months the active participants on the Bauhaus Campus will also include:

“Cabin Spacey”, a young start-up from Berlin which seeks to utilise unused rooftop areas for housing.
“Cafe Grundeinkommen”, a hub for Basic Income Berlin, in which the concept of a basic income is presented by way of their own independent currency and their own independent circulation of goods. The cafe also serves as a place for the community to meet.

“ConstructLab”, a collaborative working environment in which architects, designers and craftspeople conceive projects and convert them into reality.

“Frauraum”, a participatorily organised meeting place. It provides a platform for intercultural dialogues, and it can offer a place of shelter as well as a venue for exhibitions and events. A group of 12 female refugees and the artist Tassja Kissing are responsible for the Freiraum’s conception, design and construction.

“House of Tiny Systems”, in cooperation with RESPACE, Katrin Hoffmann is realising this project with an autarkic and sustainable grey-water purification system developed by herself. The architecture of the Tiny House shows how self-constructed, sustainable technology can be linked with design.

“Refunc Tiny Stories”, here Jan Korbes of the architectural group REFUNC will be experimenting with the functions, perception and meanings of components, material and resources.

“RESPACE”, a recent start-up that develops and builds small, multifunctional and mobile spaces. Meeting high standards of architecture, design and residential comfort, they are currently planning a mobile inner-city estate for refugees and students. The RETREAT prototype will be exhibited on the campus, and as CoWorking Space it will be used for the concept’s further development.

Further informations www.bauhauscampus.berlin

Bauhaus Campus Berlin

Wie gestalten wir Nachbarschaften in einer wachsenden Stadt und in einer Einwanderungsgesellschaft? Wie wollen wir heute wohnen, arbeiten, lernen und lehren, um die großen Herausforderungen der Zukunft zu meistern? Der Bauhaus Campus Berlin sucht neue Wege in der Bildungs- und Baukultur in Form eines künstlerischen Experiments. Dazu stellt das Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin vom 10. März 2017 bis 9. März 2018 Flächen im Außenbereich des Museums für die Initiatoren zur Verfügung.

Bis zum Frühjahr 2018 entstehen bis zu 20 unterschiedliche Tiny Houses im Gartenhof des Bauhaus-Archivs. Diese mobilen Holzhäuser auf Rädern suchen nach Antworten auf die Erfordernisse zeitgemäßer und zukünftiger Lebens- und Arbeitsformen. Dr. Annemarie Jaeggi, Direktorin des Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung: „Die Idee von Van Bo Le-Mentzel hat uns von Anfang an begeistert. Auf dem Bauhaus Campus studiert, baut und forscht eine internationale Gemeinschaft von Kreativen ein Jahr lang zu neuen und gerechteren Formen des Miteinanders. Dieses Experiment passt zum historischen Bauhaus als schulische Institution, in der bereits vor 100 Jahren neu über soziale Fragen des Wohnens nachgedacht wurde.“

Den Auftakt des Bauhaus Campus bildet die „100 Euro Wohnung“ – die kleinste Wohnung Deutschlands und gleichzeitig Bestandteil der wohnungspolitischen Initiative Co-Being House zur Planung eines innerstädtischen Mehrfamilienhauses, in dem dank flexibler Wände die Wohnungen je nach Lebenslage ihrer Nutzer wachsen oder schrumpfen können.

Zielgruppen des Bauhaus Campus sind Besucher des Bauhaus-Archivs, Familien aus der Nachbarschaft und Innovatoren, die sich für eine neue Bildung und ein neues Bauen engagieren. Wer „mitstudieren" will, ist herzlich eingeladen zu offenen Treffen auf dem Bauhaus Campus (Speakout Monday), den monatlichen Tiny Bauhaus Salons und vielen anderen Veranstaltungen. Anlässlich der Langen Nacht der Museen am 19. August 2017 planen das Bauhaus-Archiv und die Akteure des Bauhaus Campus gemeinsam ein umfassendes Sonderprogramm.

Veranstalter des Bauhaus Campus ist die Tinyhouse University (TinyU), ein Berliner Kollektiv aus Gestaltern, Bildungsaktivisten und Geflüchteten. 2015 gegründet von Van Bo Le-Mentzel, verfolgt die TinyU das Ziel, soziale Nachbarschaft auf kreative Weise zu erforschen.

Weitere Akteure des Bauhaus Campus in den kommenden Monaten sind u.a.:

„Cabin Spacey“, ein junges Start-Up-Unternehmen aus Berlin, das ungenutzte Flächen auf Dächern für Wohnräume erschließen möchte.

„Cafe Grundeinkommen“, ein Hub für das Basic Income Berlin, in dem das Konzept des Grundeinkommens anhand einer eigenen Währung und eines eigenen Warenkreislaufs vorgestellt wird. Das Café dient zudem als Treffpunkt der Community.

„ConstructLab“, eine kollaborative Arbeitsumgebung, in der Architekten, Designer und Handwerker Projekte entwerfen und in die Realität umsetzen.

„Frauraum“, ein partizipativ gestalteter Begegnungsort. Er gibt interkulturellen Dialogen eine Plattform, kann sowohl Schutzraum bieten, als auch Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsort sein. Konzeptioniert, entworfen und gebaut wird der Frauraum von einer Gruppe von 12 geflüchteter Frauen und der Künstlerin Tassja Kissing.

„House of Tiny Systems“, in Kooperation mit RESPACE realisiert Katrin Hoffmann das Projekt mit einem selbst entwickelten, autarken und nachhaltigen Grauwasseraufbereitungssystem. Die Architektur des Tiny Houses zeigt, wie sich nachhaltige Technik im Eigenbau mit Design verbinden lässt.

„Refunc Tiny Stories“, Jan Korbes von der Architektengruppe REFUNC experimentiert hier mit Funktionen, Wahrnehmung und Bedeutungen von Komponenten, Material und Ressourcen.

„RESPACE“, ein junges Start-Up, das kleine multifunktionale und mobile Räume konzipiert und baut. Mit einem hohen Anspruch an Architektur, Design und Wohnkomfort plant es derzeit eine mobile innerstädtische Siedlung für Geflüchtete und Studenten. Der Prototyp RETREAT wird auf dem Campus ausgestellt und als CoWorking Space für die Fortentwicklung des Konzepts genutzt.

Weitere Informationen: www.bauhauscampus.berlin