bauhaus journal

bauhaus journal

Edited by Lars Müller in collaboration with Bauhaus-Archiv/Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin

With an essay by Astrid Bähr
With contributions by Josef Albers, Walter Gropius, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Oskar Schlemmer, Herbert Bayer, Marcel Breuer, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Gerrit Rietveld et al.

One hundred years after the founding of Bauhaus, it’s time to revisit bauhaus journal as significant written testimony of this iconic movement of modern art. In this journal, published periodically from 1926 to 1931, the most important voices of the movement are heard: masters of the Bauhaus, among others, Josef Albers, Walter Gropius, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, and Oskar Schlemmer, as well as Herbert Bayer, Marcel Breuer, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Gerrit Rietveld, and many more.

They address the developments in and around the Bauhaus, the methods and focal points of their own teaching, and current projects of students and masters. At the time primarily addressed to the members of the “circle of friends of the bauhaus,” the journal published by Gropius and Moholy-Nagy makes tangible the authentic voice of this mouthpiece of the avant-garde. The facsimile reprint is intended to give new impetus to international discussion and research on the Bauhaus, its theories and designs.

The exact replica of all individual issues are accompanied by a commentary booklet including an overview of the content, an English translation of all texts, and a scholarly essay which places the journal in its historical context.

Available at the bauhaus-shop at the temporary bauhaus-archiv or directly from the publishers

Renovation!

Our museum is under construction. Visit us at the temporary.

bauhaus zeitschrift

bauhaus zeitschrift

100 Jahre nach der Bauhaus-Gründung wird mit der Zeitschrift bauhaus ein bedeutsames Schriftzeugnis dieser Ikone der Moderne wieder zugänglich gemacht. In der von 1926 bis 1931 periodisch erschienenen Zeitschrift kommen bedeutende Stimmen der Bewegung zu Wort, darunter zahlreiche Meister des Bauhauses, wie Josef Albers, Walter Gropius, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy und Oskar Schlemmer sowie Herbert Bayer, Marcel Breuer, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Gerrit Rietveld und andere.

Sie äussern sich zu den aktuellen Ereignissen in und um das Bauhaus, zu den Methoden und Schwerpunkten der eigenen Lehre und zu aktuellen Projekten von Schülern und Meistern. Damals in erster Linie an die Mitglieder des «kreis der freunde des bauhauses» gerichtet, wird in der von Gropius und Moholy-Nagy herausgegebenen Zeitschrift die authentische Stimme dieses Sprachrohrs der Avantgarde lesbar. Mit dem originalgetreuen Nachdruck soll der internationalen Diskussion und Forschung zum Bauhaus und seinen Theorien und Entwürfen neuer Schub verliehen werden.

Die Faksimile-Einzelhefte werden von einem Kommentarheft mit einem übersichtlichen Inhaltsverzeichnis sowie einem wissenschaftlichen Essay begleitet, der die Zeitschrift in ihren historischen Kontext einordnet.

Herausgegeben von Lars Müller in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bauhaus-Archiv/Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin

Mit einem Essay von Astrid Bähr

Mit Beiträgen von Josef Albers, Walter Gropius, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Oskar Schlemmer, Herbert Bayer, Marcel Breuer, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Gerrit Rietveld et al.

Erhältlich im bauhaus-shop im temporary bauhaus-archiv oder direkt beim Verlag

Wir bauen! Renovation!

Unser Museum wird umgebaut. Besuchen Sie uns im temporary.

Our museum is under construction. Visit us at the temporary.