Visual ©L2M3

Visual ©L2M3

An Exercise in Defending Democracy

An event series on the Bauhaus and diversity

Millions of people in Germany are publicly taking a stand against right-wing extremism and exclusion, and voicing support for democracy and participation. As cultural institutions, museums represent an open society. Now more than ever, they are called upon to state their position and create spaces for dialogue and debate. With our new event series, we wish to initiate a discussion on fundamental democratic principles and the strengths of a diverse, solidarity-oriented society.

The Bauhaus serves as a historic point of reference for understanding our present circumstances. After all, the school existed during an era of political and social volatility from 1919 to 1933. At the Bauhaus, instructors and students taught and learned together – people from all walks of life, with different backgrounds and from all around the world. The Bauhaus was the target of right-wing populist attacks from the very beginning, which ultimately resulted in the school’s closure.

Based on the Bauhaus, we view taking a stand as an important element of our institutional practice and as a skill that requires exercise. Exercises in material studies and paper-folding distinguished the Bauhaus preliminary course and helped students develop their individual abilities. At the same time, instructors encouraged students to explore their own convictions regarding design and social attitude. With our event series, we invite the public to engage in critical thinking, reflection and examination in order to learn from one another and practise the art of taking a stand. Against the backdrop of the historic Bauhaus and in view of recent political developments and debates, we ask how we, as a cultural institution, and individual citizens can take on greater responsibility and actively strengthen an open society.

An Exercise in Defending Democracy
An event series on the Bauhaus and diversity

the temporary bauhaus-archiv
Knesebeckstraße 1, Berlin-Charlottenburg
Mon–Sat, 10 am – 6 pm
Free admission



An Exercise in Defending Democracy

Life under Nazi dictatorship as a textile designer – A podium discussion marking the 80th anniversary of Otti Berger’s death

An evening (in German) as part of the event series on the Bauhaus and diversity.
Thu 18.07. | 18:00-20:00

Visual ©L2M3

Visual ©L2M3

Haltung üben

Eine Veranstaltungsreihe zu Bauhaus und Vielfalt

Millionen Menschen in Deutschland nehmen sichtbar Stellung gegen Rechtsextremismus und Ausschluss, für Demokratie und Teilhabe. Museen stehen als Kulturinstitutionen für eine offene Gesellschaft und sind mehr denn je dazu aufgefordert, sich zu positionieren und Räume für Austausch und Debatte zu schaffen. Mit „Haltung üben. Eine Veranstaltungsreihe zu Bauhaus und Vielfalt“ möchten wir gemeinsam über demokratische Grundwerte sowie eine vielfältige und solidarische Gesellschaft diskutieren.

Das Bauhaus ist der historische Bezugspunkt, um unser Verständnis für die Gegenwart zu schärfen: Die Schule bestand in den politisch und gesellschaftlich turbulenten Jahren zwischen 1919 und 1933. Hier lehrten und lernten Menschen aus aller Welt mit ganz unterschiedlichen Haltungen und Schicksalen. Von Beginn an war das Bauhaus rechtspopulistischen Angriffen ausgesetzt, die 1933 zur endgültigen Schließung der Schule führten.

Ausgehend vom Bauhaus verstehen wir „Haltung üben“ als ein wichtiges Element unserer institutionellen Praxis. Übungen wie Materialstudien oder das Falten von Papier prägten den Bauhaus-Vorkurs und dienten der Entfaltung individueller Fähigkeiten. Zugleich galt es, die eigene gestalterische und gesellschaftliche Haltung auszuloten. Mit der Veranstaltungsreihe „Haltung üben“ laden wir die Öffentlichkeit zu kritischem Denken, Reflexion und Auseinandersetzung ein, um dabei gemeinsam zu lernen und zu üben. Mit Blick auf das historische Bauhaus sowie auf die politischen Entwicklungen und Debatten der Gegenwart fragen wir: Wie können wir als Kulturinstitution und Individuen Verantwortung übernehmen und aktiv eine offene Gesellschaft stärken?

Haltung üben
Eine Veranstaltungsreihe zu Bauhaus und Vielfalt

the temporary bauhaus-archiv
Knesebeckstraße 1, Berlin-Charlottenburg
Montag–Samstag, 10–18 Uhr
Eintritt frei



Haltung üben

Lebensweg einer Textilgestalterin in der NS-Diktatur – Podiumsdiskussion zum 80. Todestag von Otti Berger

Ein Abend im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe "Haltung üben. Bauhaus und Vielfalt".
Do 18.07. | 18:00-20:00