Teaching at the Bauhaus

This conceptual diagram showing the structure of teaching at the Bauhaus was developed by Walter Gropius in 1922. The programme places ‘building’ [Bau] at the centre of all the activities. But a regular course in architecture was only introduced at the Bauhaus in 1927. Only the most talented students were admitted to the architecture course. At the start of their studies, they received a year of basic training in the so-called preliminary course, in which they were able to experiment with colour, shape and materials with no specific goals. Depending on their individual suitability, this was followed by practical work in the workshops and accompanying disciplines. The students entered the workshops as ‘apprentices’ and were to sit their ‘apprenticeship’ exams within a given time period.

Educational courses with this type of structure were unprecedented and had to be completely newly developed by Gropius initially. The choice of teachers was all the more decisive for the development of the Bauhaus’s viewpoints. Gropius succeeded in gaining the support of renowned avant-garde artists for the purpose. In Weimar, they carried out the teaching as ‘form masters’, together with the ‘work masters’ – trained craftsmen.

To begin with, almost all of the workshops, like the preliminary course, were formatively influenced by Johannes Itten. Instead of getting the students to copy from models, as was still done in the traditional academies of art, he encouraged them to produce their own creative designs based on their own subjective perceptions. In the preliminary course, he taught the foundations of materials properties, composition, and colour theory. After Itten’s departure, the preliminary course was divided between László Moholy-Nagy and Josef Albers. Moholy-Nagy shifted the emphasis from artistic issues to technical ones and developed exercises on construction, balance and materials. Albers was responsible for familiarizing the students with craft techniques and appropriate use of the most important materials.

Beyond the preliminary course, Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky, among others, supervised and supplemented the teaching work on form and colour theory, and Oskar Schlemmer taught the analysis and depiction of the human body. In addition, classes were taught in non-artistic disciplines such as mathematics and building materials.

Almost all of the masters moved to Dessau along with the college. Former students took over the direction of the workshops, as young masters: Marcel Breuer headed the carpentry workshop, Herbert Bayer the printing and advertising workshop, Hinnerk Scheper the workshop for mural painting, Joost Schmidt the sculpture workshop and Gunta Stölzl the weaving workshop. In addition to the training, the declared goal was now ‘to carry out practical experimental work, particularly for house construction and interior decoration, as well as to develop model types for industry and crafts specialists’. Technical and formal experiments were carried out in the workshops on a broad basis in order to develop prototypes for industrial manufacturing and make it possible for broad strata of purchasers to buy qualitatively high-standard but affordable goods. The theoretical teaching was placed on a broader basis and engineering, psychology, business economics and other subjects were included in the teaching programme. The masters were now called professors, and the students received a Bauhaus diploma.

Under the third Director, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, the Bauhaus ultimately developed into a kind of college of technology for architecture. Mies van der Rohe reduced the structure and importance of work in the workshops. The art and workshop department now mainly served as groundwork and orientation for developing a more up-to-date form of architecture that used contemporary structures and materials.

New temporary location!

The Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung at Klingelhöferstrasse is closed, as the museum building will be renovated and receive an extension. We are sorry for the inconvenience!

Enjoy a coffee or a small lunch in the historical building after a design by the Bauhaus founder Walter Gropius instead: the bauhaus-café will be open for you from Monday to Friday from 10 am to 3 pm until June 29, 2018.

As of June 30, 2018 you will be welcome at the temporary bauhaus-archiv / museum für gestaltung, our temporary location at Knesebeckstraße 1-2 (U Ernst-Reuter-Platz), including our bauhaus-shop. We are looking forward to seeing you there!

We will continue to provide topical and historical informationen for you on this website.

Unterricht

Dieses ideale Schema zum Aufbau der Lehre am Bauhaus entwickelte Walter Gropius 1922. Programmatisch stellt es den „Bau“ in den Mittelpunkt aller Aktivitäten. Eine reguläre Architektenausbildung gab es am Bauhaus jedoch erst ab 1927. Nur die begabtesten Studenten wurden zur Baulehre zugelassen. Zu Beginn ihres Studiums erhielten sie im Rahmen der sogenannten Vorlehre zunächst eine einjährige Grundausbildung, in der sie zweckfrei mit Farbe, Form und Material experimentierten. Bei persönlicher Eignung folgte darauf die praktische Arbeit in den Werkstätten und ihren Begleitfächern. Die Studierenden stiegen als „Lehrlinge“ in die Werkstätten ein und sollten in vorgegebener Frist ihre „Gesellen“-Prüfung ablegen. Die so aufgebaute Ausbildung war ohne Vorläufer und musste von Gropius zu Beginn völlig neu erarbeitet werden. Umso entscheidender für die perspektivische Entwicklung des Bauhauses war die Auswahl der Lehrer. Es gelang Gropius, renommierte Künstler der Avantgarde für diese Aufgabe zu gewinnen. In Weimar leiteten sie als „Formmeister“ gemeinsam mit „Werkmeistern“ – ausgebildeten Handwerkern – den Unterricht.

Zu Beginn wurden fast alle Werkstätten ebenso wie der Vorkurs maßgeblich von Johannes Itten geprägt. Statt die Schüler wie noch an den traditionellen Kunstakademien zum Kopieren von Vorlagen anzuhalten, regte er diese zu einem eigenen kreativen Gestalten aus der subjektiven Empfindung heraus an. Im Vorkurs vermittelte er Grundlagen der Materialeigenschaften, der Komposition und der Farbenlehre. Nach dem Weggang Ittens wurde der Vorkurs zwischen László Moholy-Nagy und Josef Albers aufgeteilt: Moholy verlegte den Schwerpunkt von künstlerischen zu technischen Fragen und entwickelte Übungen zu Konstruktion, Gleichgewicht und Material. Albers sorgte für das Kennenlernen handwerklicher Techniken und des materialgerechten Gebrauchs der wichtigsten Werkstoffe.

Über den Vorkurs hinaus begleitete und ergänzte der Unterricht u.a. von Paul Klee und Wassily Kandinsky zur Formen- und Farbenlehre sowie von Oskar Schlemmer zur Analyse und Darstellung des menschlichen Körpers die Ausbildung. Hinzu kam der Unterricht in nichtkünstlerischen Fächern wie Mathematik und Baustofflehre.

Den Umzug nach Dessau vollzogen fast alle Meister. Ehemalige Studierende übernahmen als Jungmeister die Leitung von Werkstätten: Marcel Breuer leitete die Tischlerei, Herbert Bayer die Druck- und Reklamewerkstatt, Hinnerk Scheper die Werkstatt für Wandmalerei, Joost Schmidt die Plastische Werkstatt und Gunta Stölzl die Weberei. Neben der Ausbildung war das erklärte zweite Ziel nun „die Durchführung praktischer Versuchsarbeit, besonders für Hausbau und Hauseinrichtung, sowie die Entwicklung von Modelltypen für Industrie und Handwerk“. In den Werkstätten wurden auf breiter Ebene technische und formale Experimente durchgeführt, um verstärkt Prototypen für die industrielle Fertigung zu entwickeln und breiten Käuferschichten den Erwerb qualitativer und zugleich preisgünstiger Waren zu ermöglichen. Der theoretische Unterricht wurde auf eine breitere Basis gestellt und z.B. Ingenieurswissenschaften, Psychologie, Betriebswirtschaftslehre und andere Fächer ins Lehrprogramm eingebunden. Die Meister nannten sich nun Professoren, die Absolventen erhielten ein Bauhaus-Diplom.

Unter dem dritten Direktor Ludwig Mies van der Rohe entwickelte sich das Bauhaus schließlich zu einer Art Technischer Hochschule für Architektur. Mies van der Rohe reduzierte die Werkstattarbeit in ihrer bisherigen Form und Bedeutung. Die Kunst- und Werkstattabteilung diente jetzt vor allem der Zuarbeit und Ausrichtung auf eine zeitgemäße, Konstruktionen und Materialien nutzende Baukunst.

Dauerhaft geschlossen! Permanently closed!

Besuchen Sie uns im temporary bauhaus-archiv. Visit us at the temporary bauhaus-archiv.

Das Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung in der Klingelhöferstraße ist geschlossen, da das Haus in den nächsten Jahren saniert und erweitert wird.

Wir erwarten Sie im the temporary bauhaus-archiv / museum für gestaltung, an unserem neuen temporären Standort in der Knesebeckstraße 1-2 (U2 Ernst-Reuter-Platz). Wir haben täglich, außer sonntags, 10-18 Uhr für Sie geöffnet. Dort finden Sie auch den bauhaus-shop. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

Unsere Webseite bietet weiterhin aktuelle und historische Informationen für Sie.