cover of the catalogue "Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar 1919-1923"

Staatliches Bauhaus Weimar 1919–1923

Edited by Lars Müller in collaboration with the Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung

This facsimile of the first Bauhaus catalogue from 1923 is supplemented by a commentary by Astrid Bähr that places the publication, long out of print, in a historical context and documents the Bauhaus from its idea to its establishment as a renowned art and design school.

In 1919, Walter Gropius opened the Bauhaus in Weimar with a radical teaching approach. Four years passed before the first exhibition took place, which conveys a new approach to art to the enthusiastic public and carries the school’s ideas all over the world.

The catalogue Staatliches Bauhaus Weimar 1919–1923 was published in 1923 to accompany this first public appearance. With the help of this interdisciplinary catalogue, the idea and potential of the Bauhaus found its way onto paper for the first time. In addition to numerous project presentations, the theoretical approaches of Paul Klee, Wassily Kandinsky and Gertrud Grunow convey the teaching methods of the various masters. Gropius’ preface traces the structure of the school and presents the unique reform approach that demands and teaches the unity of technology and art. The illustrations from the preliminary course and the various workshops provide insights into training and production at the Bauhaus.

With the original layout by László Moholy-Nagy and the cover designed by Herbert Bayer, the book is an important testimony to that legendary avant-garde movement and sheds light on its work and aspirations since the beginning of the Bauhaus.

The German facsimile is accompanied by the first full English translation of the catalogue, making it accessible to an international audience.

Available at the bauhaus-shop and at Lars Müller Publishers

Titel des Katalogs "Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar 1919-1923"

Staatliches Bauhaus Weimar 1919–1923

Herausgegeben von Lars Müller in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung

Faksimile des ersten Katalogs des Bauhauses von 1923 mit einem Textbeitrag von Astrid Bähr, der diese längst vergriffene Publikation in einen zeithistorischen Kontext setzt und das Bauhaus von seiner Idee bis zu seiner Situierung als renommierte Kunstschule dokumentiert.

Im Jahr 1919 eröffnet Walter Gropius mit einem radikalen Lehransatz das Bauhaus in Weimar. Vier Jahre vergehen bis zur ersten Ausstellung, die dem begeisterten Publikum einen neuen Kunstansatz vermittelt und die Ideen der Schule in die ganze Welt trägt.

Begleitend zu diesem ersten öffentlichen Auftritt erscheint 1923 der Katalog Staatliches Bauhaus Weimar 1919–1923. Mithilfe dieser fachübergreifenden Publikation haben die Idee und das Potenzial des Bauhauses erstmals ihren Weg auf Papier gefunden. Neben zahlreichen Projektvorstellungen werden durch die theoretischen Ansätze von Paul Klee, Wassily Kandinsky und Gertrud Grunow die Lehrmethoden der verschiedenen Meister vermittelt. Gropius’ Vorwort stellt den Aufbau der Schule vor und präsentiert den einzigartigen Reformansatz, der die Einheit von Technik und Kunst fordert und lehrt. Die Abbildungen aus dem Vorkurs und den unterschiedlichen Werkstätten verleihen Einblicke in die Ausbildung und die Produktion des Bauhauses.

Mit dem ursprünglichen Layout von László Moholy-Nagy und dem von Herbert Bayer gestalteten Einband ist das Buch ein wichtiges Zeugnis jener legendären Avantgarde-Bewegung und veranschaulicht deren Wirken und Streben seit den Anfängen des Bauhauses.


Erhältlich im bauhaus-shop und bei Lars Müller Publishers