We’ve embedded a video on this web page. In order to view the video, go to cookie settings and allow “advertising”.

Provenance research at the Bauhaus-Archiv

Systematic search for Nazi-confiscated cultural assets

On 1 April 2020, the art historian Corinna Alexandra Rader began a systematic investigation of the collection of the Bauhaus-Archiv in search of Nazi-confiscated cultural assets, in particular, from former Jewish owners. Even though the Bauhaus-Archiv was founded in 1960 and couldn’t have acquired any works during the years of National Socialism, provenance research still plays a central role due to our collection focus.

The Bauhaus-Archiv collects, preserves and studies artworks and objects of the Bauhaus as it existed in Weimar, Dessau and Berlin from 1919 to 1933. The Nazis vilified numerous Bauhaus artists as being "degenerate", resulting in the removal and confiscation of their works from German museums. Some 200 instructors and students of the Bauhaus were of Jewish descent and were thus subjugated to persecution, expulsion and even murder between 1933 and 1945. Twelve members of the Bauhaus verifiably died in concentration camps.

Many acquisitions and donations came directly from members of the Bauhaus. However, the archive has regularly added items to its collection with purchases from the European art market. Approximately 15 % of these acquisitions date back to the 1960s, and often very little is known about their previous owners. For these items, there is an urgent need for clarification.

We thank the Senate Department for Culture and Europe for generously financing this endeavour.

Videos with English subtitles:

Case 1: Lyonel Feininger's "Halle, am Trödel" on YouTube
Case 2: Works purchased from the antiquarian Ben Weinreb Ltd., London on YouTube

Aufgeschlagene Inventarbücher, Foto: Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Provenienzforschung am Bauhaus-Archiv

Systematische Suche nach NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenem Kulturgut

Am 1. April 2020 hat die Kunsthistorikerin Corinna Alexandra Rader damit begonnen, die Sammlung des Bauhaus-Archivs systematisch auf verfolgungsbedingt entzogenes Kulturgut, insbesondere aus jüdischem Besitz, zu untersuchen. Unser Haus wurde erst 1960 gegründet und konnte somit zur Zeit des Nationalsozialismus keine Erwerbungen tätigen. Und dennoch ist die Provenienzforschung durch unseren Sammlungsschwerpunkt für uns von zentraler Bedeutung.

Das Bauhaus-Archiv sammelt, bewahrt und erforscht die Kunstwerke und Objekte des Bauhauses, wie es in Weimar, Dessau und Berlin von 1919 bis 1933 bestand. Zahlreiche KünstlerInnen des Bauhauses wurden von den Nazis als „entartet“ verfemt und ihre Werke aus deutschen Museen beseitigt. Etwa 200 Lehrende und Studierende des Bauhauses waren zudem jüdischer Herkunft und wurden zwischen 1933 und 1945 Opfer von Verfolgung, Vertreibung und Ermordung. Zwölf Bauhäusler*innen fanden nachweislich ihren Tod in Konzentrationslagern.

Viele Erwerbungen und Schenkungen gelangten direkt durch Bauhaus-Angehörige zu uns. Allerdings ergänzte das Haus seine Sammlung auch durch Ankäufe im europäischen Kunsthandel. Für diese Objekte – etwa 15% der Erwerbungen aus den 1960er-Jahren – sind die Vorbesitzer*innen nur selten bekannt. Hier besteht dringender Klärungsbedarf. Wir danken der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa für die Finanzierung dieser Stelle.

Besuchen Sie uns im temporary bauhaus-archiv!

Museum und Archiv in der Klingelhöferstraße sind aufgrund von Bauarbeiten geschlossen.

Visit us at the temporary bauhaus-archiv! Our museum and archive at Klingelhöferstrasse are closed due to construction work.