Programme

‘Together, we are intending, conceiving and creating the new building of the future …’ Walter Gropius’s founding manifesto is shaped by an educational vision even more than by its architectural and craft vision. The history of the Bauhaus and the development of its programme did not follow a smooth course. Changes in management and among the teachers, as well as artistic and political influences from outside, led to constant changes in the college. One of the decisive qualities that the Bauhaus possessed was an ability to see diversions or even unsuccessful experiments as potentially necessary lessons and to derive corrections in its course from them.

The programme of the Bauhaus was decisively shaped by its three Directors. At the time of its founding in 1919, Walter Gropius linked the elimination of the divide between free and applied art that was the aim of the new college with an Expressionistically influenced ‘human education programme’. Artists and crafts specialists collaborated in both teaching and production work. But the greater value attached to craft work alone was not sufficient in the longer term to counter the reality of an increasingly technologized environment. In 1923, the Bauhaus responded by introducing the guiding principle of ‘Art and technology – a new unity’. The opportunities provided by industrial manufacturing were now to be exploited more strongly in order to achieve functional and aesthetically satisfactory design. The Bauhaus workshops developed models that were intended for mass production – from lamps to residential buildings.

Starting in 1928, the college’s social aims intensified under Hannes Meyer; the solution was now summarized as ‘people’s necessities, not luxuries’ [‘Volksbedarf statt Luxusbedarf’]. Using cost-saving industrial mass production, products were to be made affordable for broad social strata. For Meyer, meeting people’s basic needs took clear priority over artistic considerations. He therefore required a more academic and scientific approach to education. When the students under his direction became more and more politicized, Meyer was accused of having a Communist orientation and was dismissed by the City of Dessau. His successor, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, placed the emphasis on the aesthetic side of architecture starting from 1930, neglecting its social and political aspects. The preliminary course was abolished and the importance of the workshops declined. Many of the students oriented themselves artistically towards the model of Mies van der Rohe.

Big changes are coming!

Since 30 April 2018 the museum is unfortunately closed, so that construction work on the renovation and expansion can begin.
The bauhaus-shop and cafe will remain open in May. Opening Times bauhaus-shop: daily, except on Tuesdays, 10 am - 5 pm, Café: Mon-Fri, 10 am - 5 pm.

In the summer of 2018 the Bauhaus-Archiv will open a new project space in the rooms formerly occupied by the Kiepert bookshop in the Hardenberg House located at the corner of Knesebeckstraße and Hardenbergstraße. There we will inform you about all of our institution’s projects and continue to maintain contact with our visitors while the construction work is carried out. The bauhaus-shop also looks forward to greeting you there in future.

You will find more information on this website.

Programm

„Wollen, erdenken, erschaffen wir gemeinsam den neuen Bau der Zukunft, ...“: Das Gründungsmanifest von Walter Gropius ist mehr noch als von einer baulichen oder handwerklichen von einer erzieherischen Vision geprägt. Die Geschichte des Bauhauses und die Entwicklung seines Programms verliefen nicht geradlinig. Wechsel in der Leitung sowie unter den Lehrern, künstlerische und politische Einflüsse von außen bewirkten einen ständigen Wandel der Schule. Es gehörte zu den entscheidenden Qualitäten des Bauhauses, Umwege oder auch erfolglose Versuche als notwendiges Erfahrungspotenzial zu sehen und Kurskorrekturen daraus abzuleiten.

Das Programm am Bauhaus wurde dabei maßgeblich von seinen drei Direktoren geprägt. Zur Gründung 1919 verknüpfte Walter Gropius die an der neuen Schule angestrebte Aufhebung der Trennung zwischen freier und angewandter Kunst mit einem expressionistisch gefärbten „Menschenbildungsprogramm“. Künstler und Handwerker arbeiteten gemeinsam in Lehre und Produktion. Doch die Aufwertung des Handwerks allein konnte der Realität einer zunehmend technisierten Umwelt auf Dauer nicht genügen. 1923 reagierte das Bauhaus mit dem Leitsatz „Kunst und Technik – eine neue Einheit“: Nun sollten die Möglichkeiten der industriellen Fertigung stärker genutzt werden, um zu einer funktional und ästhetisch befriedigenden Gestaltung zu gelangen. In den Bauhaus-Werkstätten entstanden Vorbilder, die für die Massenproduktion bestimmt waren: von der Leuchte bis zum Wohnhaus.

Ab 1928 verstärkte sich unter Hannes Meyer der soziale Anspruch: „Volksbedarf statt Luxusbedarf“ lautete nun die Losung. Durch eine Kosten sparende industrielle Massenproduktion sollten die Produkte für breite Bevölkerungsschichten erschwinglich werden. Die Befriedigung der Grundbedürfnisse der Menschen hatte für Meyer klaren Vorrang vor künstlerischen Überlegungen. Deshalb forderte Meyer eine Verwissenschaftlichung der Ausbildung. Als sich die Studierenden unter seiner Leitung immer mehr politisierten, wurde Meyer mit dem Vorwurf der kommunistischen Orientierung von der Stadt Dessau entlassen. Sein Nachfolger Ludwig Mies van der Rohe legte ab 1930 den Schwerpunkt auf die ästhetische Seite der Architektur, unter Vernachlässigung der sozialen oder politischen Dimension. Der Vorkurs wurde abgeschafft, und die Bedeutung der Werkstätten ging zurück. Viele Schüler orientierten sich künstlerisch am Vorbild Mies van der Rohes.

Bitte beachten Sie:

Seit 30. April 2018 ist das Museum geschlossen, damit die Baumaßnahmen zur Museumserweiterung und Sanierung beginnen können.
Der bauhaus-shop und das Café haben im Mai weiterhin für Sie geöffnet. Öffnungszeiten bauhaus-shop: täglich - außer dienstags - 10 bis 17 Uhr, Café: Montag bis Freitag, 10 bis 17 Uhr.

Ab Sommer 2018 eröffnet das Bauhaus-Archiv im Haus Hardenberg in der Knesebeck- Ecke Hardenbergstraße in den Räumen der ehemaligen Kiepert-Buchhandlung einen neuen Projektraum. Dort werden wir Sie über alle Projekte unseres Hauses informieren und den Kontakt mit unseren Besucherinnen und Besuchern während der Bauzeit weiter pflegen. Auch der bauhaus-shop freut sich, Sie zukünftig dort begrüßen zu können.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf dieser Webseite.